Is there a dumpster in the vicinity, or is that just me and my pits?

As a matter of fact, there’s probably just a dumpster in the vicinity!  Don’t be so quick to blame me and my homemade deodorant for foul smells in your area.  This may surprise you, but we’re 3 days in, and I still smell squeaky clean!

Certain people, of course, are not so easily convinced.  My mother keeps impressing upon me that it might not be a good idea to work in “close contact” with people when the only thing separating me from offensive body odor is a dash of baking soda.  However, I cannot tell her (or probably anyone out there who has never tried this) enough times: I don’t smell!

The tea bag is working marvelously well – now that it is dampened – to add a fresh scent to my mixture, and I’ve also heard that a small cotton pad soaked in essential oils (I’ve also considered vanilla, lemon juice, or coconut oil) and placed in with your powder can add natural fragrance.  It is also important to actually rub the powder onto your arms, not just give your skin a quick dusting – it will help your deodorant to adhere better.

Long story short – I’m still mourning the loss of my zesty “rejuvenating jojoba” and “soothing melon” deodorant scents, and I’m still choking down a glass of tomato juice every other day, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the effectiveness of my first natural remedy.  Hearty sweater that I am, I find that I tend to sweat less using the natural method than I did using conventional deodorants (the only exception to that being Certain Dri, which dried my underarms up like raisins).  I just hate sweating at all.  And therein lies my problem: I’ve banished all of those splendid antiperspirant chemicals that have spoiled me with dehydration for so long.  Oh well, at least I don’t smell – I’m serious, Mother!

Here’s a quick look at some of the homegrown recipes I’m researching for next week’s challenge: shampoo + conditioner!

4 thoughts on “Is there a dumpster in the vicinity, or is that just me and my pits?

  1. Hate to be the bearer of bad news but sometimes we are the last to know when there is an odor issue and even your best friends (or mother) are reluctant to enlighten. Not saying you have a problem, since I haven’t been within an hour of you since this all started, but it’s something to keep in mind.
    I wonder if a little salt would aid in the dehydration process.
    You never said what the tomato juice does.
    How are your clothes holding up?

    • Gosh – thanks for calling me out, Aunt Sue! Hahaha As for your questions – perhaps I’ll write another quick post tonight to address my clothes and to revisit the tomato juice! And I will DEFINITELY check the lemon juice bottle – didn’t even think of that!!!

  2. Just wouldn’t want you to inadvertently “offend” anyone. But – hafta say – haven’t smelled a thing so far . Guess mothers do worry about everything!!! L&K M XO

Leave a Reply

