Sometimes I have arguments with my hair

What does “transition” really mean anyway?  According to Merriam-Webster, it’s “a passage from one state, stage, subject, or place to another” or “a movement, development, or evolution from one form, stage, or style to another.”

Well I’ve got a bone to pick with this Merriam-Webster duo.  While I appreciate the well-worded definition they have offered, these guys give no mention of how long said “transition” will take.  Is there a general rule of thumb that I could follow to calculate the length of a “transition”?  All I really need is a guesstimate – a ballpark figure – a spit-balled conjecture – something.

Is THIS where I’m headed?

So far, it’s been six days since I started using homemade shampoo and conditioner, and my hair seems to be caught in a permanent transition, and I’m just dying to know when I can expect a reprieve.  Since I’ve been using baking soda and vinegar/lemon as shampoo and conditioner, my hair has lashed out a bit.  While it isn’t oily (although today it did seem to dirty faster than normal), I have noticed a change in texture.  

Perhaps I’m just too anxious.  After all, I’ve heard that switching from conventional hair products to natural ones can result in a “transition period” of two weeks or more!  Heaven help me if this awkward phase lasts another week, because then I’ll have to cut my hair short out of retaliation, making me the least legit hippie you’ve ever seen (aside from that dude in the tie-dyed shirt and Lennon glasses last Halloween…there’s one in every crowd, I suppose).

I’m trying to stick it out and not make any changes until this transition period passes.  At the moment, just using non-foaming shampoo is taking enough of my energy (and not just figuratively – you have to scrub much harder when you don’t have chemicals to back you up!).

On the plus side, my hair has more body, more curl and is more manageable in its current condition.  Also, I’m not wasting money!  As a matter of fact, my homemade recipe adds up to almost exactly what I was spending on my store-bought products.

My TRESemmé shampoo and conditioner costs me a total of $6.48 for two 32-oz. bottles of product, and my homemade brew adds up to about $17.39 for 156oz. of product.  I must admit that I was surprised by this one – I thought my home remedy was going to end up costing me an arm and a leg.  However, keep in mind that a lot of the more expensive ingredients – like natural oils and extracts – are used quite sparingly.

I should note that I did not include Coconut Oil ($8.49 for 15oz.) in the budget for my homemade remedy.  I originally added the Coconut Oil to my conditioner recipe before I came up with the perfume cycle.  However, if I were going to make this again, I would cut all fragrances out of the conditioner – leaving just vinegar and lemon juice – and rely on my perfume cycle to add scent.  In this first batch, I did not use Coconut Oil in the perfume, so I’m not including it in my budget.

Here’s the breakdown:

Talk about texture

Store-bought:

TRESemmé Shampoo (32oz.): $3.48

TRESemmé Conditioner (32oz.): $3.49

TOTAL (64oz.): $6.96 = $0.11/oz

Homemade:

Shampoo – 
Baking Soda (16oz): $0.54

Conditioner –
Apple Cider Vinegar (128oz.): $3.49
Lemons (9oz.): $1.99

Perfume –
Vanilla Extract (1oz.): $2.99
Orange Extract (1oz.): $4.19
Peppermint Extract (1oz.): $4.19

TOTAL (156oz.): $17.39 = $0.11/oz

So how long does a “transition” last again?
I guess we’ll find out.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes I have arguments with my hair

  1. I hope that your transition period ends soon! I hear what you are saying… when I shampoo – I need some foaming action. Another idea for the texture…maybe try some type of extra intensive moisture treatment each week (seems to me I remember reading about eggs, mayo, hot oil, even beer being good for your hair – certainy not all at the same time)??
    One question I have…. I know you are keeping track of the monetary outlay vs store bought but what about the time expenditure of it all (each product) – the mixing and the application time?

  2. I started shampooing with baking soda after reading The Curly Girl book by Lorraine Massey. I got the book to learn how to take care of my daughter’s head full of curls (I was torturing them). When I saw how great it worked on her hair, I had to try it too. Stick with it, give it time – it will work. Also I think you have to get used to your hair having a different texture than it had before from store bought shampoo and conditioner. Good luck!

    • Thanks for the tips! I definitely want to keep it up, because I’ve heard that it could take a little while for hair to adjust, and I’m hoping that’s what’s going on right now (not that it’s not working). So I’m going to keep up the dry shampoo and just roll with it for a few more weeks – it’s definitely getting better, so that’s a good sign! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

