Houston: We have No ‘Poo improvement!

I know – I shouldn’t speak too soon or start celebrating out of turn (so let me turn off the music, put down the

Ahhhh the feeling of clean!

champagne and fire these clowns).  After all, I may not be out of the woods yet.  My hair can oil itself right back up quick as a wink, and don’t think I don’t know it.  But, for the time being, pardon me while I enjoy this.

MY HAIR WAS CLEAN TODAY!  MY HAIR WAS CLEAN TODAY!!  MY HAIR WAS CLEAN TODAY!!!

Ok, that’s done.  (If you read yesterday’s post, you must know I needed that).

Yesterday, my hair and I hit rock bottom.  We had it out.  I had a meltdown.  We didn’t speak for most of the day (very unusual for us).  I could barely look in the mirror without wanting to cry.  Talk about your bad hair day (more like bad hair week for me!).

Needless to say, I came home a downtrodden and wearied mess.  My hair was gray with powder and still dirty underneath; I had come to a crossroads, and I was facing a quandary.  I knew I had to do something.  My parents (quite readily) pounced on this point of view and ran with it.  They urged me to consider a more gradual transition, a one-time get-out-of-jail-free card to use shampoo, or even possibly admitting defeat.

Not ready to give up on all-natural just yet but fearing that my family might try to catch me and shampoo me in the night, I turned back to the internet for more research – this time on emergency grease remedies.  I found vinegar, lemon juice and tea.

Wednesday night I went for vinegar.  In a recycled water bottle, I mixed one part vinegar (I used 2oz.) with four parts warm water (I used 8oz.), leaning just a little bit heavy on the vinegarAside from the smell, vinegar is a pleasant shampoo (although it WILL sting your eyes – so be aware!).  Of course it doesn’t lather, but I found that it was much easier to massage into my hair and scalp than BS.  It makes your hair feel a little slippery, almost like you’re using a conventional conditioner.  Applying the golden rule of vinegar hair treatments, I rinsed doubly well to be sure no scent lingered.

As soon as I got out of the shower, I could tell my hair was not as dry as it had been when I got in.  And there was movement to it!  All this was very exciting to me (I realize it’s like I’m on Planet of the Apes).

At about midnight last night, I was boiling about two mugs’ worth of peppermint tea to use on my hair in the morning.  I let the tea steep all night, so by morning-time, it was talking.  But I was ready for it – the stronger the better for my wayward head.  I probably got a good 32oz. of tea on my hair this morning, and it was worth it.

Here’s the exciting part: My hair wasn’t quite as greasy as it has been!

I still needed to put some sort of dry shampoo at the roots, though, but I only added the tiniest bit.  I learned through some research that I’ve been applying my dry shampoo all wrong!  Most importantly, I’ve been putting on way too much (how did I miss that?  I looked like George Washington).

Here’s the next exciting part: This crazy combination of methods worked!

In fact, my mother saw me before I left for work, and looking skeptically at my hair, she asked,

“Did you use shampoo?”  Point – Mother Nature.

And so it remained all day.  My hair is still not 100%, but it’s 100% improved from the past two weeks.

Tonight I washed with lemon juice.  I used the same formula: One part lemon (2oz.) to four parts warm water (8oz.).  Lemon smells better than vinegar, obviously, and is quite refreshing (but it will sting any open cuts you have – so be aware!).  My hair isn’t dry, but it still seems to have movement, so that’s a good sign!

So, there you have it – finally a happy post about No ‘Poo.  It was bound to happen one day.

MY HAIR WAS CLEAN TODAY!!  MY HAIR WAS CLEAN TODAY!!  MY HAIR WAS CLEAN TODAY!!

Oops – where did that come from?

8 thoughts on “Houston: We have No ‘Poo improvement!

  1. Good morning dear daughter – The first thing I’ll comment on is the sweet picture in todays blog – hope thats one of ours!!! I could feel the lightness in your step and the spring in your walk as I read your blog this morning. So happy for your good news and even happier to “hear” a smile on your face (only to be outshone by the shine from your HAIR!!!) You stuck with it and found a solution ( no pun intended) that worked – and to think I ever doubted – oh me of little faith!! Congratulations on your success and your fortitude on seeing this through to a satisfying result. Now go toss that shiny blond head . Enjoy – you deserve it!!!

    PS Very entertaining entry – one of your best in my humble opinion .

  2. So glad to hear the good news! I was worried that we might have to stage a shampoo intervention on Easter or worse yet that we would find you in dreadlocks. Hope your mom is keeping a photo diary.

  3. I’m glad you’re finally finding something that works! I’m about to try the vinegar route myself and see if it’ll help bring some shine to my locks. Glad I have you to test all this out! I love reading your blog, keep up the good work!

    • I know you tried the banana treatment with success (congrats!!!), but did you ever try the vinegar?? Be careful – it stings cuts (if you’re a cuticle-picker like I am) and it has a pretty potent smell. BUT THAT GOES AWAY – I promise!

  4. Congrats on your success.
    So what exactly is your new regime??

    P.S. and before you try Samantha’s concoction – she is still picking banana pieces out of her hair and it was everywhere in her bathroom!!

    • Well the new regime WAS vinegar and tea rinses. But now it’s pretty much anything that promises to take oil out of hair – apple cider vinegar, baking soda, corn starch, tea, boiling water, hot water, warm water, white vinegar, lemon juice…..none of it has been able to knock out this coconut oil. This stuff packs a bigger punch than Ali.

Leave a Reply

