You never know what someone’s hiding behind a smile

Don’t forget to lather! (Except your homemade paste won’t…)

My toothpaste recipe at a glance:

  • 1/4 cup baking soda
  • 1/8 cup coconut oil
  • 1/8 cup hydrogen peroxide
  • 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract  (10 drops Spearmint E.O.)
  • Mix everything together in a bowl

And now from the “just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in” file, I’ve found that an essential ingredient for homemade toothpaste is … coconut oil!

Well of course I tried to avoid it.  I tried to avoid it like the plague, but I found there was no getting around it.  In fact, I made a whole failed batch of coconut oil-less toothpaste (that dried out within a few hours) before breaking down and adding a small bit of the oil to my latest brew.  But I have to say that coconut oil, while it is still a blacklisted ingredient in my book, has redeemed itself slightly in my eyes.

I’ve been using my homemade toothpaste for just a few days now, and it’s working incredibly well.  I have to say – I was pretty uncertain about this one.  I was perhaps (and this is definitely a toss up, but perhaps) even more uncertain than I was about the deodorant (remember – hearty sweater right here).  After all, toothpaste is something that I come dangerously close to ingesting on a twice-a-day basis.  Putting one of my incoherently-prepared recipes on my skin or on my hair (Heaven forbid!) is one thing, but potentially eating something that I’ve whipped up in a kitchen is like arm wrestling an octopus – you’re not exactly sure how it will end, but it won’t be good.However, it seems that anything that ends up in my homemade toothpaste can’t be any worse than what regularly finds its way onto my toothbrush every day (or has for the past 23 years).  Searching for an alternative to chemical-based toothpastes led me to three main ingredients: baking soda (my best friend), hydrogen peroxide and coconut oil (my arch nemesis).

Trying to avoid another coconut oil disaster, I mixed up a baking-soda-and-hydrogen-peroxide-based toothpaste.  It

formed a liquid-y mixture that I poured into an old (washed out) lotion bottle and used once with much success.  However, the next time I needed to brush, I squeezed the bottle and the only thing that made it onto my toothbrush was a poof of dried baking soda.Back at the drawing board, I decided it wouldn’t be a horrible betrayal of my hair’s trust to try just a teensie bit of coco oil in my toothpaste.  So I took the plunge, and I love the new recipe!  I swear it leaves my teeth feeling smoother and cleaner than conventional paste.  One thing I must point out, however: RINSE WELL!  If it’s not flushed out, the BS will lodge itself in the tiny corners of your mouth and the crevices between your teeth to give you an unpleasantly salty surprise when you least expect it.

It’s really all about technique anyway

Another warning: Don’t expect to fall in love with this flavor.  Trust me, “essence of baking soda and hydrogen peroxide” will not be coming to a Baskin Robbins near you any time soon.  But don’t get me wrong – I find that it leaves my mouth pleasantly fresh and clean!  Here’s the recipe I use:

  • 1/4 cup baking soda
  • 1/8 cup coconut oil
  • 1/8 cup hydrogen peroxide
  • 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract
  • Mix everything together in a bowl

This recipe recommends storing your toothpaste in a glass container, and since my previous paste had dried out in a plastic one, I followed directions and put mine in an old (washed out) olive jar.  I wonder if that’s where the unpleasant flavor is coming from…rather explains the salt, doesn’t it?

10 thoughts on “You never know what someone’s hiding behind a smile

    • A lot of the recipes I looked up called for sea salt as well, so it must be an effective cleanser! But that must be pretty salty…with baking soda AND salt. I would definitely recommend the toothpaste recipe I have now – I’m totally pleased! Good luck if you give it a go!

  1. So this sounds like a real success story – with very little tweaking necessary – giving you a good result – right from the start. Hey – I’m just glad we’re not talking about hair for a change. Smile!!!

  2. This sounds great! I’ve been wanting to make my own toothpaste for some time now, but didn’t know where to start. Is there a certain grade of hydrogen peroxide that you use?

    • Not really – I just used whatever we had in the cabinets! None of the recipes that I researched gave specifics on the type of peroxide to use. What I’m using looks like just regular old Hydrogen Peroxide to me – the active ingredient is 3% hydrogen peroxide. I can tell you that the recipe I’m working with now has stayed in its liquid form and seems to work as an effective cleanser, so I like it! Sorry I don’t have a whole lot of insight – I’m a total novice at all this….Hope that helps!! Thanks for reading!!!

  3. Congrats – ONE MONTH DOWN and only 5 to go!
    Sounds like a toothpaste success this week!
    How are things going with your deoderant and (gasp….) your no poo??

  4. Just a small thought re the toothpaste – be sure that you don’t use anything too abrasive on your teeth. Wouldn’t want to scratch those pearly whites!!! I bought a whitening toothpaste once that I could actually feel and see grittly particles in – can’t imagine that would be good to use day after day – seemed too harsh and abrasive . So be sure your toothpaste isn’t acting like sandpaper on your teeth. Just my worried mother’s thought for the day. Don’t want to see you strip your hair , scratch your teeth or do any permanent damage.

  5. Seems like this week is a bit more successful that last – glad to hear that!
    I do have another question…. I know you are comparing your natural made products monetarily to the chemically store bought products but what about your time expenditure? (time it takes to make the products and then the extra time it takes to use them vs store bought.) It seems that the natural products are a bit time consuming??

Leave a Reply

