Am I that girl with the mossy teeth?

Clean the wax out of your ears and listen up, because I don’t have much to say on this subject.

Even after the Great Coconut Oil Debacle of 2012, coco oil is STILL managing to redeem itself through the success of my homemade toothpaste!  And that’s about all I have to say on the natural paste front: it’s working, it hasn’t changed the oil balance of my mouth, let’s leave it alone.

I had a lot of people ask me yesterday for “news” on my toothpaste experiment.  But guess what, people?  I’m not opening my mouth, because NO news is absolutely, 100%, most definitely GOOD news when it comes to homemade beauty products.  Just look at my do-it-yourself hair care line to see this law working the opposite way.

Here are a few points about homemade toothpaste that I’ve gathered – some might surprise you, some definitely will not.

  • Homemade toothpaste IS salty.  Despite the peppermint extract, brushing my teeth these days feels a bit like gulping down a mouthful of sea water.
  • Homemade toothpaste IS NOT sandy.  I’m not sure if the BS dissolves or if it’s just counteracted by the coco oil, but my paste is not gritty or grainy.
  • Homemade toothpaste IS clean.  It leaves my teeth feeling slick and spotless…perhaps (dare I postulate) even better than conventional paste!
  • Homemade toothpaste IS NOT thick.  And it won’t foam up, either.  But on the plus side, it will come out of hair and clothes quite easily.
  • Homemade toothpaste IS NOT cool and tingly.  It does not leave my mouth frozen and minty, like traditional toothpaste would.  If you’re really into the flavor of your toothpaste, I suggest you just stick with it (or add aLOTof peppermint extract to a homemade option).
  • Homemade toothpaste IS refreshing.  Don’t worry – my mouth doesn’t feel stale and my teeth aren’t mossy … yet.

You missed a spot!

Now before I sign off, I’d like to address some questions I’ve gotten about the (if I’m remembering Econ101 properly, which I’m probably not) opportunity cost of this endeavor. I have found my homemade product-making to be incredibly rewarding.  It’s really a fun and relaxing activity that I enjoy doing by myself or even with a friend!

Alright, let’s cut the crap.  Homemade product-making is a time-consuming, stress-inducing pain in the butt.  I wonder all the time if one of my homemade products won’t hold up on any given day and leave me wallflowering at a party with hair mopped in grease and sweat stains down to my beltloops.  On a good day, I lose time on it; on a regular day, I lose sleep over it; on a bad day, I just lose it.

But the real time-suck is not the actual fabrication of my products.  It’s the research.  Well, actually, it’s the experiments that go awry and leave me with my head under a faucet for a whole weekend, but the research does take a lot of time.  You wouldn’t believe how many conflicting views are out there about the use of glycerin in toothpaste or how many drops of essential oil it takes to mask the smell of vinegar.  But I try to do my research right; skin is the body’s largest organ, and I want to take care of it correctly during this crazy challenge.

So is it worth it?  Well it isn’t all bad, of course, and I really enjoy experimenting (as long as I have a FULL 48 hours to get everything out of my hair before I have to go out in public).  But I would say it’s definitely been worth it to take a good look at my personal care products, learn a bit about what’s in them and see what else is out there.  I have to say, I’ve been surprised at some of the simple and cheap remedies Mother Nature provides!

So there you have it!  Be sure to check back soon for the next episode of “Rachel Has A No ‘Poo Meltdown and Resolves to Make an Improved Product.”  Believe me, I’m getting bored with this show too – it’s always playing reruns.

One thought on “Am I that girl with the mossy teeth?

Leave a Reply

