The way to a girl’s heart is through her hair

My NEW SHAMPOO recipe at a glance:

  • 1C water
  • 2 tbsp dried chamomile (I use chamomile tea)
  • 1/3 C castile soap (my FAVORITE ingredient)
  • ¼ tsp vegetable oil
  • ½ tsp lemon extract
  • 1 tbsp honey
    My NEW CONDITIONER recipe at a glance:
  • warm ½ C of coconut milk
  • using a thin towel, work the milk through your dry hair
  • wrap your hair in a towel for 15 – 30 minutes
  • wash normally (whatever your definition of “normal” includes)

Some girls like to get flowers.  Some girls like chocolates.  Some girls like fine jewelry or expensive brands.

As for me – my heart is won by a 16 fluid-ounce 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottle of 18-in-1 Hemp Almond Pure-Castile made-with-organic-oils Soap.

That’s right, guys, if you’re looking to get a nature girl (well…at least one who has recently had a terrible three-week run-in with No ‘Poo), there’s no need to search for a rose that resembles her complexion or a necklace that expresses your forever togetherness; just hit up a local supermarket with a well-stocked organic section and pick up the largest tub of castile soap you can buy.  If you can find something that resembles a vat and guarantees cleanliness, you’ll hold her hand forever.

This, I can assure you, is true.  I know because I am now head-over-heels in love with a 104-year-old phony doctor who claims that planetariums are the temples of our future.  Meet Dr. Bronner. 

Is he a wonderful and intelligent conversationalist?  Of course.  Is he tall, dark and handsome with a full head of hair (even at 104)?  Naturally.  But that’s not what swept me off my feet.  I heard him say the words “all-natural” and “clean” in the same sentence and I was on board faster than a group of Trekkies buying Comicon tickets.

That’s right – my new friend Dr. B. has shown me how to make natural and effective shampoo.  As I found in my research, castile soap is pretty good stuff – it’s an effective cleanser with gentle ingredients that live up to Mother Nature’s standards.  And the great part about Dr. B’scastile is that it’s effective.  It is so effective that my hair is no longer sad, oily, and listless but shiny, soft, and clean once again!  Did I mention that Dr. Bronner’s is effective?

It’s also quite concentrated.  So make sure you get a good scent, because it’ll last you a while.  Although it is reasonably plausible to wash your hair and skin (and apparently 16 other things) with pure castile, I opted to mix it into a great recipe I found for homemade shampoo designed specifically for blondes.  Here’s what I’m using now:

  • 1C water
  • 2 tbsp dried chamomile (I use chamomile tea)
  • 1/3 C castile soap (my FAVORITE ingredient)
  • ¼ tsp vegetable oil
  • ½ tsp lemon extract
  • 1 tbsp honey

I like this recipe because it includes moisturizers, like honey, so I don’t need a daily conditioner.  This recipe has done wonders for my previously lifeless locks (and my strung out nerves!).  I no longer lie awake at night wondering if I’ll wake up to a greasy mess that I have to treat with way too much BS and corn starch.  I can’t say yet that my new recipe has made my hair better than it was with traditional shampoo/conditioner, but it’s way better than No ‘Poo.

I’m the spirit of my hair; it’s all the glory that I bear!

And in even more exciting news, I’ve discovered the wonders of coconuts!!  After instituting the effectiveness of Dr. Bronner’s, I decided once again to try the coconut milk conditioner that my friend Sanata suggested, and guess what?  Success!  Dr. Bronner has truly turned my world upside down – suddenly coconuts are my friends!  Here’s what I do:

  • warm ½ C of coconut milk
  • using a thin towel, work the milk through your dry hair
  • wrap your hair in a towel for 15 – 30 minutes
  • wash normally (whatever your definition of “normal” includes)

I only plan to use the coconut milk treatment a few times a week.  It leaves my hair soft and manageable and smelling like coconuts and cream!  

I’ve also heard from my cousin Samantha that she cooked up a successful moisture treatment using avocado, yogurt and bananas, so I might have to give that a whirl as well, but I’m waiting for a free weekend – just in case.

14 thoughts on “The way to a girl’s heart is through her hair

    • YES!! Natural products are so finicky sometimes, but when you find something you like, it’s usually a very good standby (or at least that’s what I’m finding)!! And olive oil is coming up in my lotion! (I’ve been a bit nervous to put it in my hair since I’ve had some grease issues already…)

  1. And your hair really does look very soft and silky . This is great news!!! Guess persistance really does pay off – I’d have thrown in the towel many shampoos ago. But you stuck with it through bad days and worse – and look at you now. Congratulations on finding a solution that is working for you – not just getting you by – really making your hair (and you) SHINE. Proud of ya!!! Look forward to reading about your latest escapades every morning!!!

    • Still nailing down the finer points of my conditioner, but I think I do have something that FINALLY works!!!! Such a relief…I can actually sleep at night! Unfortunately, I still can’t seem to keep the bathroom straight…my concoctions are kindof messy to prepare…..

  2. YAY….. congrats on your new shampoo success! Your hair looked fine on Sunday!
    Your cousin is singing the praises of her avacado, banana and yougurt intensive conditioner but it does make for a bit of a mess. Make sure to blend well or you will be picking banana pieces from your lovely locks even after a good rinse.

    • Thanksssss!! I plan to try the avocado, banana, yogurt conditioner as soon as I get a free weekend (just in case it backfires, as my treatments are known to do!).

      And, yes, ladies – I realize that’s not Jane Goodall – COOL IT! hahaha I appreciate the attention to detail, Aunt S/Aunt P/Mommy!

  3. Hope the next family gathering is at one of your houses…..I am still trying to clean up Samantha’s yogurt, banana, avacado intensive conditioner from last weekend!
    You’ve heard of MaryKay parties, lingerie parties, tupperware parties, etc….Maybe you should have a naturesmaid party –

Leave a Reply

