I’m not celebrating an anniversary

I’m not a big fan of anniversaries.  I love a good holiday, and I’m a huge birthday supporter, but I can’t get next to anniversaries.  I just don’t do them; under normal circumstances, I simply decline (read “decline” as “absolutely refuse on pain of death”) to celebrate them.

So what was my excuse for curling my hair, putting on false lashes and high heels, hiring a band and knocking back a few tequila shots last night?  It was Mother Nature’s and my one month anniversary!!!!  I mean birthday…of course.  It was Mother Nature’s Maid’s birthday.  I don’t celebrate anniversaries.

So Mother Nature and I have made it one month – one whole month – without killing each other.  Although, quite frankly, she did come rather close to offing me several times.  Seriously, slipping in the shower is a real hazard.  How am I supposed to keep my balance when I’m bathed in coconut oil?  She’s a sneaky one.  Point: Mother Nature.

So maybe I haven’t found eternal bliss with nature (yet!…she will most certainly come to love me in the end), but you’ll never guess what I have found.  Beeswax!

And how!  I’ve found so much beeswax I could…well, I’m not exactly sure what you do with beeswax (other than put it in homemade beauty products), but let’s just say when I find a practical use for it, I’ll be set for a year or more. After an exhausting search, I finally bought a pound of pure beeswax for $9 at The Natural Market today.

I came home clutching the soft gold in my arms (and smelling it from time to time – it’s like fresh honey!), and my mother looked at me questioningly.

“So this lotion recipe calls for a good amount of beeswax?” she asked.

“About an ounce or two,” I responded.  She turned to my father.

“Well don’t worry about getting that beeswax we needed,” she told him.

“Beeswax?  Since when do we use beeswax?”  he asked.

“I don’t know, but it looks like we’re about to start.”

(More details on the lotion I made to come tomorrow – it’s still coagulating at the moment!  But it looks promising!)

9 thoughts on “I’m not celebrating an anniversary

  1. Congrats! I’m so glad that 1) you stopped using the BS and vinegar in your hair and 2) that the castille soap and coconut milk have been working for you! Good luck experimenting with the aloe vera – the reason it works so well is that it’s the same pH as your hair (about 5.0) so it closes your hair cuticles and smooths the hair shaft, locking in moisture. I think someone else posted about this but I’ll repeat: you have to keep the aloe refrigerated and use a preservative (tea tree oil, vitamin e oil, or rosemary oil) for your mixtures 🙂 Happy anniversary and I wish you many happy hair days to come!

    • Thanks!!! And thanks for all your help! I’ve been doing a ton of research on this pH thing, and it’s got me going all sciencey on my hair products! haha Unfortunately, my hair recently decided it doesn’t like my current regimen, so I’m going back to the drawing board once again. Hopefully my hair and I can work through this.

  2. Happy Anniversary (oops…………uh…………………BIRTHDAY) MNM!!! Congratulations on your hard work and persistence. Things seem to be heading in the right direction – your hair looks beautifully silky, shiny, healthy and CLEAN. Your teeth are dazzling. And you have no odor so your pits must be neutralized and responding to your regimen. Hope your lotion works just as well. It sure looked good on the stove last night – kinda like liquid gold. I may volunteer to be your guinea pig for the lotion. You know how dry my legs and hands get!!! Let me know when you find a natural remedy for gray hair, dark circles, droopy eyelids, sagging everything and about 25 lbs of non-essential protoplasm. I have a volunteer tester in mind.

      • I”m glad you’re both game to try my lotion!!! Might I suggest the SECOND batch, as the first is a bit oily AND smells like salsa, since it’s stored in and old salsa jar…..not a good idea. Thanks for reading and volunteering. Be careful what you wish for!

  3. I think I might have an idea for your mom if she is looking for ideas for the beeswax…I think you can wax furniture with it but I would start in an inconspicuous spot (never forget the coconut oil debacle).

    • Hey I’m game to try. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from Mother Nature, it’s “nothing beats a trial but a failure!” And believe me, I know failure.

  4. Happy Anni….errrr Birthday Nature. I’m glad to see in the comments that you have plenty of help to test your lotion. To bad that they are too late to “test” your baking soda poo less poo 😦 lol. Speaking of which, I found an interesting recipe for homemade natural shampoo using soapwort and lemon verbeena. If your interested, I found it on eHow.com ifmyou want to, look it up yourself. Otherwise, this is the link; http://www.ehow.com/how_4882403_make-pure-natural-shampoo.html. Good luck and btw I love your writing, you have a great sense of humor. 🙂

    • Thanks for reading! And thank you for the recipe. Perhaps I will try this at some point in the future when I get my all-natural gumption back….a point very FAR in the future! haha After such a rough ride with No ‘Poo these past 6 months, I may need a good year to get over those traumatic experiences. I’m so glad you’ve been enjoying the blog – good luck if you try any of the recipes! To stay on the safe side, I would recommend chapstick, bodywash, shave cream and acne wash – those have been the most successful!!!

Leave a Reply

