Guess who’s coming to dinner tonight?

On second thought, if this showed up at my door, I might not even let her in….

Body Lotion Recipe #2 at a glance:

  • 4 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3tbsp aloe vera juice
  • 3tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp beeswax
  • 1tsp vanilla extract

Sometimes I imagine that I invite Mother Nature over for dinner.  I take her coat and hat (she wears a sizeable headdress with a tree branch on one side and several apples on the other) and offer her a seat at the table.

We chat idly about humpback whales while I pull the eggplant parmesan out of the oven (even in my dreams, I’m still a one-trick pony in the kitchen).  I comment on her wonderful work in the Redwood Forest, and she compliments my cooking.

“And that’s how you solve global warming,” Mother Nature is saying, as I clear dishes.

“I would have never thought of it that way,” I say.  She’s been on this global warming kick for almost 45 minutes.  If it’s really that simple (trust me, she has some ingenious ideas on the subject), then she should be able to explain it in five.  I have bigger fish to fry.  “So about my hair…”

“I have a magic ingredient you can use in all of your recipes, and you’ll never have any more trouble.”

She pulls a shiny, golden jar out of her gourd purse and hands it to me.  I spin it around to the label and look up in dismay to find Mother Nature smiling evilly at me.  Inside the jar is 100% coconut oil.  I wake up in a cold sweat.

So I’m still not great friends with Mother Nature, but I think the relationship is getting better.  She and I actually almost see eye-to-eye on my revised lotion recipe!

After my first batch of lotion came out extra slick, I spent an evening googling things like “homemade lotion not greasy” and “natural lotion recipe no grease,” and I found a few things I was doing wrong.  First, it looks like I was using too many heavy oils (coconut and olive are both quite rich).  Secondly, it seems that my proportions were off.  Herbal Remedies at Home says

  • Use equal parts of oil and water
  • Use TWO parts liquid oil to ONE part solid oil

Back in the kitchen, I whipped up Recipe #2 – a light lotion for those of you who still wish to use your hands.  I used the same double boiler + enthusiastic mixing method, but this time I was forced to use a hand mixer, because the oils and water didn’t combine as readily as in Recipe #1.  In fact, even the hand mixer left some water and aloe juice in the bowl.  I think the key is to mix the two ingredients at the exact right temperature, which obviously requires some practice.

However, even with an unpracticed hand, the lotion turned out fairly well.  It’s still shiny at first, but the greasiness goes away quite quickly, leaving less residue on my hands than conventional lotions, I find.  The fragrance, as usual, is something that I need to work on.  The single teaspoon of vanilla didn’t quite do the trick, so my lotion smells like a combination of tea tree oil and beeswax (a neutral scent).

But I’ve had positive feedback from forced family trials, so that’s good news, and I’m happy to report that I now have functional hands!

Don’t you just hate feeling like you can’t use your hands?

7 thoughts on “Guess who’s coming to dinner tonight?

  1. I agree – your lotion recipe is pretty darn good. Maybe a little more vanilla for fragrance??? It really seems to last longer on your hands than regular lotion – not in a bad way – just seems like my hands feel hydrated for longer ( and that is saying something). My legs are next so hope you have a double batch whipped up!!! Good work dear maid!!!

  2. Congrats on the lotion! Sounds like you found a remedy much faster this time.
    Did I read one of your recent replies correctly – your newest hair regime isn’t working??

    • Indeed you did. I just lamented about it. Prepare yourself for something horrible…grab a tissue! On a lighter note – thanks for the props on the lotion – loving that!!!!

  3. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised when I tried some of your second brew. The first batch was quite oily and didn’t seem to dry into my hands(no, just plain didn’t dry into my hands!), but it may be a good formula for extra dry spots like elbows and heels, etc. When I tried your second mix, I thought at first that it was going to be the same experience, because it had a similar “feel” …….. but I am happy to say that it was absorbed quite nicely and my hands felt a lot softer. I’ll take two jars, please!!

Leave a Reply

