Say it ain’t true, Auntie Sue

Of course I will defeat No ‘Poo, but I want to look good doing it.

As of last Thursday morning, my hair has been flawless – soft, bouncy, shiny and incredibly clean.  Have I found peace with Sham or No ‘Poo?  Absolutely not.  I’m back on chemicals.  Say it ain’t so.

When we had Easter at our house this year, my Aunt Susan came over with a clever little gift for Mother Nature’s Maid.  It  was an emergency kit with Arm & Hammer natural deodorant and Herbal Essences Hello Hydration shampoo.  At the time, my hair was on a Dr. Bronner’s upswing, and I had grand visions of this emergency kit growing dusty in a corner of my room, untouched for six months.  I was mistaken.  My aunt’s kit turned out to be a lifesaver when I had Meltdown Day #17 (a meltdown that I had promised myself would never happen).

Since last weekend’s grease-up, my hair has been a constant struggle.  Once again, I found myself worrying 24/7 and losing sleep at night wondering what awaited me on my head in the morning.  I even went back to dry shampoo for a few days – possibly the most depressing thing I’ve done in my entire life.

I should have expected it.  History has shown it to be true in every hair pickle I’ve been in yet.  Eventually a Meltdown Day comes.  The only question: When?  This week’s answer: Thursday, April 19 at 7:15 a.m.

As usual on Meltdown Day, I woke up for work to find hair oiled within an inch of its life.  As usual on Meltdown Day, I gave it the good old college try – dry shampoo, enthusiastic brushing, a variety of grease-concealing styles.  As usual on Meltdown Day, I met with disappointing defeat.  And as usual on Meltdown Day, I ended up shampooing in a last-minute frenzy and made false promises to myself that this would be the last Meltdown Day ever.

Since Meltdown Day #17, I actually did give up on my homemade shampoo for some time, and it’s been a lovely vacation!  Hello Hydration is a beautiful shade of metallic blue, and it has a list of chemicals longer than a line at Disney.  It leaves my hair impeccably clean and beautiful and makes me wonder why I ever gave this stuff up.

As a matter of fact, I have vowed to give up my homemade shampoo experiment for some time and come back to it after I’ve had some time to cool down and reevaluate the situation.  The important thing to take away from all this is that I am not giving up but restructuring my life so it can support No ‘Poo.  I definitely want to try again, but I need to figure out under what terms (or in what universe, perhaps?) that would be possible.  I simply can’t handle the “living shampoo-to-shampoo” lifestyle anymore – it’s exhausting.  And who can blame me, at this point?  Look at the kind of money I’ve put out for greasy hair this past month.

My hair and I are taking some personal time to re-center our life.

  • Baking Soda: $0.54
  • Apple Cider Vinegar: $3.49
  • Lemon: $1.99
  • Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap: $9.00
  • Coconut Milk: $3.99
  • Organic Coconut Milk: $1.99
  • Aloe Vera Gel: $3.97
  • Aloe Vera Juice: $4.59
  • Chamomile Tea: $3.00
  • Grapeseed Oil: $4.99
  • Lemon Extract: $4.19
  • Honey: $5.24
  • Vegetable Oil: $3.92

If you have no calculator handy, that’s a grand total of $50.90 that I could have spent on homemade shampoo in one month.  I say “could have” because there are a few things we must consider with this number.  First, I stole some of these ingredients from my mother’s pantry.  Second, remember that $50 didn’t buy just one bottle of shampoo.  Most of those ingredients I bought in large enough quantities to make numerous bottles of shampoo.  Now if only that shampoo were effective, I would be set for life.

6 thoughts on “Say it ain’t true, Auntie Sue

  1. Welcome back MNM…I have missed you the past few days, my morning coffee is just not the same without you. I think it’s a great idea to take a break and tackle some other products, I am sure your hair will thank you. Maybe in the meantime you will get some feedback from other readers who have gone poo-less.

    • As you know, I’ve started gradually mixing my homemade and chemical shampoos, and so far so good!!!!! My hair definitely seems happier with this transition! And the Hello Hydration is working magnificently – thanks!!!!

  2. Glad you’ve come to a conclusion (temporary though it might be) that makes you and your hair happy. Enjoy your carefree, greasefree, existence – everybody needs a vacation from their worries now and then. Like Scarlett says – You can think about that tomorrow. Tomorrow is another day!!!

    PS Your hair looks great!!!

  3. Nice to see you again…I was starting to worry. Glad to see that you are not “throwing in the towel” but will continue research as you move on to your next product. An idea for next time- maybe go MNM for conditioner first then when your hair gets used to that introduce the MNM poo?? Could it have been too much of a shock/tranistion at once?
    I am “assuming” that all your other products (deoderant, toothpaste, lotion, etc) are working well?

    • Interestingly enough, my new “shampoo” recipe uses Aloe Vera, which is a suggested conditioner/leave-in treatment as well. So you are obviously on to something here!! I’m not sure where this shampoo will take me – whether it will act as a 2-in-1 or if I will still need a conditioner afterwards, but I think Aloe could be the answer for both shampoo AND conditioner.

Leave a Reply

