Don’t Drop the Ball on Homemade Lotion

Don’t use my recipe before the big game!

My father claims he has found a good use for my first lotion recipe: As a nostril ointment.  I’m not sure whether to take this as a compliment or not, but he claims it works better than Neosporin, and I am really in the market for a win, so I’ll take it at this point.  I could totally do nose creams: “MNM knows what your nose needs” or “treat your nose to nature with Mother Nature’s Maid.”  I’m just spitballing here – it’s not like I’ve thought about it or anything.

If you remember, this lotion contains aloe vera juice, water, olive oil, coconut oil and beeswax, and it’s pretty potent.  It makes my hands quite greasy, and it can take some time for that feeling to go away.  Meanwhile, I can barely keep my hands on the steering wheel and my car on the right side of the road.  Let’s hope my hometown police forces aren’t reading this, or there will be a warrant out for the Volvo and me.

So it’s not the most useful hand cream (considering it renders your hands useless for a good 10 minutes), but as usual, I am not ready to throw in the towel quite yet on Recipe #1.  And persistence has paid off.  Turns out, my moisturizer is a great overnight therapy for elbows, legs, hands, and heels.  Plus, after eight hours, the lotion has (just) managed to fully sink into my skin, so no greasiness to worry about!

This may be a little daring, but I’ve started using it on my lips – an overnight mask of this stuff really helps.  But be warned: it doesn’t taste like Lip Smackers.  I’ll tell you the same thing we tell my brother about food that’s not nailed down: Just because it’s edible doesn’t mean you should eat it.  I’ve even tried putting this recipe on my face last night.  I used a tiny portion of lotion on a tiny portion of face, because I was fairly certain it would make me break out into a giant pustule, what with all the oil, but it actually worked fine.  However, it is a bit heavy for my face’s tastes.

Could I share your nostril cream?

This homemade lotion is something of a kick in the wallet, though.  At $0.48/oz, it’s nearly twice as expensive as my regular St.Ive’s lotion, which is $0.27/oz.  However (and I’m not just trying to win points for nature), small portions of my lotion seem to go farther than store brands.

Store-bought:

  • St.Ive’s Intensive Rescue (20.3 oz): $5.47
  • TOTAL (20.3 oz): $5.47

Homemade:

  • Aloe Vera Juice (16 oz): $4.59
  • Water (1.5 oz): $0
  • Olive Oil (16 oz): $5.44
  • Coconut Oil (16 oz): $12.19
  • Beeswax (16 oz): $9
  • TOTAL (65.5 oz): $31.22

I want to play with this recipe and Recipe #2 to see what kind of body lotion variations I can come up, and I’m fairly certain Mother Nature and I can come to an agreement on this one!  So I’ll keep working on the intensive moisture treatment…And if all else fails, I can always put it in my nose.

5 thoughts on “Don’t Drop the Ball on Homemade Lotion

  1. Sounds like a great overnight lotion for the dead of winter when my hands are so dry and have those cracks that hurt almost as much as your mouth ulcers!

Leave a Reply

