If I told you I make my own deodorant…Would you still be my friend?

Before we begin, I should warn you: We’re going to be discussing natural deodorant again.  This means we’ll be talking about messy powder, pit stains, damp underarms, and – yes – body odor.  If you have a weak stomach, you may want to pop a Pepto.  Otherwise, just bask in the glow of being much more socially acceptable and far more dateable than this idiot who batters her underarms with baking soda and corn starch every morning.

This week, Baltimore brought out the big guns – 100-degree temperatures and humidity so pervasive you can’t tell if you’re sweating or being hosed down by a fire company.  I ran the entire length of my driveway this morning trying to avoid our new sprinkler system before I realized that we didn’t actually get a new sprinkler system; it was sweat.

Hey, I just met you….

The one good thing about heat like this is that it doesn’t discriminate – everyone sweats in such stifling temperatures, which is comforting.  Sweating is kindof like belting out Call Me Maybe in a car full of people – it’s only awkward if you’re the only one doing it.  Most people are perfectly comfortable sweating in large groups.

Of course, it’s also awkward if you’re the only one who’s drenched when everyone else still manages to keep their glands somewhat under control.  And with just natural deodorant on my team, I must be sweating buckets like a wild boar chasing down a squirrel, right?  Wrong.

I have to say, I would be skeptical, too.  I was a skeptic for years, in fact.  How many times have I been told that the switch to natural deodorant gets better once your pits acclimate to the lack of chemicals?  A lot of times, but I never believed it.  Trust me, before I tried it myself, you could have argued that point with me until you were blue in the face, and I would have stuck to my chemical deodorant every time like a tongue to a frozen light pole.  I’m a sweater, remember?  I have waterfalls for armpits.

But do you want to know Mother Nature’s best kept secret?  Your armpits actually DO acclimate.  I do sweat, but not nearly as much (or as often) as I used to.  I used to sweat in the most random situations, and it wasn’t even temperature-dependent.  Now I’m much more comfortable with the way I sweat.  I don’t even have to drink my tomato juice all the time anymore, and I only use my lemon juice/vinegar in extreme cases.

I’ve also switched up my deodorant recipe, after coming across the idea of using Dr. Bronner’s as deodorant.  Straight Dr. B was a bit harsh for my poor pits.  They became dry and flaky and altogether unsightly.  Here’s what does the trick for me:

  • 1 part Dr. Bronner’s liquid castile soap
  • 1 part Aloe Vera Gel

I follow this with my baking soda/corn starch powder.  I’ve also received a recipe from a friend for coconut oil deodorant, which she said works marvelously!

So it turns out my pits aren’t as overactive as I thought!  And you thought you were more socially acceptable than I am.  Where do you get these ideas?

3 thoughts on “If I told you I make my own deodorant…Would you still be my friend?

  1. I’m always a bit uneasy when I realize you are talking about sweating and pits again – but was so relieved when I realized this was a triumph (of sorts ) for you dear Maid. So glad to hear you and your pits are getting along during this heat wave – ( and I’ll bet all your coworkers and friends are as well!!!)

    PS DId you ever wonder about the origin of the word “sweater” I mean the clothing item “sweater”. Did they call it that cause it would cause people to sweat when they wore it ? Or was it just a random word they made up ?

    • I HAVE wondered about that. I guess it’s a chicken-egg problem…was the sweater invented before people had even named the phenomenon of perspiration? I would hazard a guess that the sweater is for the fact that it causes one to sweat….but I guess we’ll never know!

Leave a Reply

