I’m all about nature, as long as I don’t get it in my hair

After months of dry, coarse, frizzy, dirty, greasy, dull, listless hair, my four days of soft, shiny hair have been like a vacation.  But MNM is committed to natural remedies, and this week, I’ve cooked up a new recipe to cure all my No ‘Poo problems!

Psych!  That was a good one.  Actually, I’m just going to share a few tips that I got from the hairdresser about going back to chemicals.  Yay!

  • Baking soda is not a good thing to put on your hair.  It is incredibly drying.  Instead of BS as dry shampoo, try baby powder.
  • Tea tree oil is drying and not the best natural oil for your hair.
  • Coconut oil is particularly beneficial for hair.  Ugh – here we go again.  But, wait!  My hairdresser tipped me off about Babassu oil – an alternative to coconut oil that has the same benefits without the grease!  My hairdresser recommended Bassu Oil by Surface.
  • A once-a-week (but not more!) clarifying treatment can be beneficial, particularly if your water comes from a well (and if you’re trying to undo months of ill-advised hair treatments…).  I’m going to start using KMS Daily Fixx Clarifying Treatment each week, which my hairdresser said will help to reconstruct my hair to its normal state.
  • A once-a-week moisture treatment is also beneficial.  I have on hand SilkSheen Silk Treatment by KMS California, a softening treatment that’s “especially recommended for rough, dull and tangled hair.”  (it’s like they’ve been spying on me…)  Also this treatment is pink and glittery and smells like candy, which is always a plus.
  • “Alcohol” should never be the first ingredient in your shampoo.
  • Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap is a wonderful product for many things, but not for your hair!  It tends to dry out your hair and contributes to product build-up.
  • No ‘Poo really isn’t suitable for all hair types.  Even my hairdresser said she once tried coaxing her hair to “self wash” by shampooing less often but found the results to be disappointing.  No ‘Poo tends to work best on thicker, curlier heads.

So I gave up on No ‘Poo/Sham-Wow, but I think this new plan will have a lot fewer kinks in it.

6 thoughts on “I’m all about nature, as long as I don’t get it in my hair

  1. Sounds like you got more than your money’s worth with that haircut of yours !!! Here’s wishing you many happy and carefree days with your new found appreciation for clean, shiny, soft hair!!!

  2. Couldn’t agree with you more! I’m very much ‘Au Natural’. Like you though, it didn’t work for me either. I have fine flyaway normal to oily hair and it just didn’t work (for me) the way other people said it did. I like my shampoo bars though and I’m sticking with them. Babassu oil is a fantastic alternative and definitely less greasy! I use tea tree oil but only in very small concentrations 🙂 Good luck with your new plan!! Look forward to hearing how it works out 🙂

    • Thanks!!! I’m definitely going to try this Babassu oil – I’m sure coconut oil is good, but after the Great Coconut Oil Debacle, I’d rather not chance it again haha Also – I think there should be a website that tells some of the horror stories about going no poo – mainly that it’s not as easy as it looks and DOES NOT work for everyone!!! I heard all these successful no poo stories that I felt like a failure when I couldn’t get it to work for me. Definitely not a regimen that everyone can pull off!

  3. Who would have thought that going au natural would be bad for your hair. How much did all the new products set you back? I am sure whatever the cost it is worth it!

    • Actually I haven’t bought anything yet – I had the clarifying treatment on hand, and the shampoo/conditioner I’ve been using was a sample from the salon. But I do plan on trying some store-bought natural shampoos/conditioners, and I want to buy some Babassu oil, so I will keep you updated on how much all THAT costs!! But – yes – whatever the cost, it’s worth it to have my hair back!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

