If you’re thinking eyeliner, I’m thinking charcoal

My mom thinks charcoal is taking the natural kick one step too far.  She thinks you shouldn’t put charcoal near your eyes because what goes near your eyes can get in your eyes, and you don’t want to mess up your vision.

Good point?  Clearly a good point.  Mothers know everything, and they’re like walking warning labels.  One of my aunts has all the latest information on fresh food recalls and the 10-step process for washing produce.  And there’s my friend’s mom, who has a good five reasons why you should never stand in front of the microwave.  And then there’s my mom, who cautions against pulling over for police officers in remote areas and rolling down the car window too far when asking for directions.

I can’t be positive why my mom is so concerned about charcoal, of all things.  It may have to do with the fact that I arrived home the other day with a large bottle of activated charcoal capsules, claiming that I was going to make homemade eyeliner.  That just may be what set her off on that kick.

And, really, who wouldn’t go on a kick about eye makeup made from charcoal?  The idea of putting something you scraped off the bottom of a grill onto your eyelid is really quite disturbing.  First of all, it’s a situation that has conjunctivitis written all over it.  And do we even need a second-of-all after that?  So, in an MNM first, I decided to figure out what exactly I was cooking up before I slathered it all over my face.

The activated charcoal I have for eyeliner is not actually the same as the refuse in the bottom of your grill.  Though, in a way, it almost is; activated charcoal is just regular charcoal that has been processed to become porous.  This makes it good for removing toxins and apparently odors, as well.  (I know you’re thinking what I’m thinking…charcoal deodorant!!)

The first surprise about buying activated charcoal is where to find it in the store.  You don’t go to the outdoor section, and you don’t go to the grilling section.  You go to the vitamin aisle.  That’s right – activated charcoal is safe to eat.  In fact, it’s widely touted for a variety of medicinal uses.

But just because you can eat something doesn’t mean you want to dump it in your eyes.  I’m thinking Tabasco sauce, horseradish, OldBay.  Except in this case, it seems you can dump…and in large amounts.  A search for “activated charcoal” and “eyes” yielded results for homemade pink eye remedies, even charcoal poultices that could be left on overnight.  One site described a charcoal eye rinse – as in, charcoal in the eye, not just on top.

This research has been enough to convince me that homemade activated charcoal eyeliner is, in fact, quite safe.  But, I’d still check with your mom before doing any experimenting; it’s always important to read the warning label.

6 thoughts on “If you’re thinking eyeliner, I’m thinking charcoal

  1. Can’t argue with the fact that you’ve done your research. Of course they also touted saccharin, diet soda, aspartame, etc at one time or another. You see where I’m going with this. So – do what you must – in the name of MNM………….. but at least do it in a well lit public place – preferably during daylight hours – on the outside well lit parking lot ……………..never in the stairwell of a lonely parking garage. Your loving mother –

    • HAHA yes, those are definitely classics; wish I’d thought of those when I was writing this! Would you believe that I actually had a difficult time thinking of examples? I guess the safety messages are just becoming second-nature to me, too. You’ve taught me well!!

    • I could see both of those coming true – Cleopatra or Ali – since I feel like I have to put SO much product on to make it show up and stay. Luckily, however, the powder comes off easily with just a bit of water, so mistakes are easily corrected! The final product is mediocre; certainly workable, but not something I’d be happy to use every day.

Leave a Reply

