Or you could just do something stupid, like put oil on your face

I may as well just take up smoking, because that’s how stupid I feel partaking in the Oil Cleansing Method.

I’ve heard my mother say it a thousand times: “With everything we know about smoking, a person must be crazy to do it!”

Well, in the facial realm, consider me clinically insane.  With everything we know about putting oil on our faces, a person must be crazy to do it, right?  Conventional wisdom has told us that oil causes breakouts and pimples and shiny spots.  Yet, here I am, knowing all this, and still putting oil on my skin…in liberal amounts…every day.  That’s the OCM.

Unlike smoking, however, when it comes to facial care, I’ve found there exists a parallel universe to the one in which most of us were raised.  In this other world, oil is embraced as a facial cleanser, and people actually survive!  Welcome to OCM Land.

In OCM Land, nobody uses soap.  Here, we believe that soap dehydrates your face and throws off the natural balance of oils, forcing your skin to overproduce oil to make up for what was lost.  OCM devotees believe this is what causes breakouts, pimples, and shiny spots.  So instead of drying out the skin with soap, in OCM Land, you massage a bit of oil into your face, open your pores with steam, then rinse.

To get started, I needed oil.  Simple enough, right?  Wrong.  Read 5 different OCM tutorials, and you’ll get 5 different combinations of oils that you should use.  Castor oil, apricot kernel oil, jojoba oil, coconut oil – the lists go on; and each list is amended with “play around and see what combination works best for you.”  Seriously?  My skincare is the last thing I want to “play around” with.  (Yes, I realize how ironic that sounds coming from someone who just started a facial care “experiment.”)

Instead of “play around,” I would say “do your research.”  Figure out your skin type.  See what other people are saying.  See what other people with your skin type are saying.  I have dry skin on my face, so I was looking for something nourishing and moisturizing.  Traditional OCM calls for a base of Castor Oil, but a lot of reviews said it was very drying, so I decided to leave out the Caster Oil completely.  So here’s what I went with (measurements are approximate):

  • 3 TBSP Organic Olive Oil
  • 1 TBSP Jojoba Oil
  • 10 drops Sandalwood EO
  • 10 drops Lavender EO
  • 10 drops Tea Tree Oil

I’ve been “washing” my face with this mixture for a few days now, and guess what?  No breakouts, no pimples, no shiny spots!  It’s not a miracle; it’s a parallel universe.

What’s the Oil Cleansing Method?

What is Maid For My Face?

Who is Mother Nature’s Maid?

2 thoughts on “Or you could just do something stupid, like put oil on your face

  1. I run with the motto – “If it ain’t broke – don’t fix it.” Fortunately for you – you have never had a troubled complexion. In other words – “It ain’t broke.” Makes me very nervous – you putting all this unusual stuff on your face in an effort to “fix it”. I would prefer you leave your face alone and move on to something that might actually need help – or better yet – another amusing RWR. I’m just sayin………

  2. I have to echo “M XO”. Keep this one hidden in your bag of tricks until you really need it, which will be a long, long time from now!

Leave a Reply

