Keep It Clean; Just Don’t Scrub Your Face

If you’re going to get next to the Oil Cleansing Method, you’re going to have to get next to oil.  Sounds obvious, yet no one seems to grasp this.  Since I started with the OCM, everyone’s been asking me two things:

  1. Are you crazy?
  2. Don’t you have oil all over your face?

To the first – obviously, yes (if you’ve been following the MNM Blog, then you wouldn’t be asking this question).  To the second – obviously, yes (if you’ve ever tried the OCM, then you wouldn’t be asking this question).  Let me be clear here: When you’re oil cleansing, you will not get all the oil off of your face.  Don’t panic!!

This is the Oil Cleansing Method principle that has been the most troublesome for me.  When I wash my face, I like it to feel tangibly, squeaky clean.  I don’t want any of this extra hydrating, double moisturizing, sensitive care crap that leaves a slippery film on my skin no matter how hard I scrub.  I want my soap to vacuum all the oil off my face and leave it feeling like a stainless steel plate right out of the dishwasher.  As I’m sure you can guess, washing my face with oil leaves a film.

I’m not going to lie, my first few OCM attempts were pretty disconcerting.  I kept rinsing and scrubbing, waiting for that squeaky clean feeling that would tell me all the oil had successfully been removed.  But I never found it.  I had to walk away from the sink with slightly slippery skin, and I didn’t like it one bit.

However, when you wash your face with oil, an interesting thing happens: your skin absorbs the excess oil left behind.  I find that, once my face dries, it feels just as clean and refreshed as it does when I use conventional soap.  With the OCM, my skin also feels nourished and softened, rather than rough and dried out.  That’s not to say, however, that you should leave an oil slick on your face.  Your skin won’t absorb the Exxon-Valdez spill, and if it does, I think you’re going to have some pimples to show for it.  It’s important to remove as much oil as you can gently, in order to avoid shine and blemishes.  When I wash, I simply rinse and scrub thoroughly in hot water for a minute or two, resisting the urge to scrape and claw as hard as I can to get the squeaky clean feeling.

I actually think it’s working, too.  Either that, or I have a pretty sizable breakout coming soon.

What’s the Oil Cleansing Method?

What is Maid For My Face?

Who is Mother Nature’s Maid?

2 thoughts on “Keep It Clean; Just Don’t Scrub Your Face

  1. Glad its working out for you. Where do you come up with these picture??? That looks like one of old Hawks grooming brushes!!!

  2. Well, it’s been a couple of weeks, and no breakouts yet. Plus, your skin looks soft and silky. Just don’t let any of it get in your hair!

Leave a Reply

