7 Days of Self-Acceptance – Day 7: A Buddhist Prayer for Forgiveness

People always say that the longest journey begins with a single step.  If the path to inner peace is a personal journey, I’m pretty sure the first single step is forgiveness.  Forgiveness for ourselves; forgiveness for others; and asking others for their forgiveness.  I’ve begun to realize that it’s one of the most powerful practices for clearing negativity and moving forward with a more positive outlook on my life, myself, and the universe around me. Holding on to bad feelings is a dangerous venture, because it poisons you from the inside out, until you’re dragging around a 200-pound suitcase full of negative energy, anger, grudges, and self-diminishing thoughts that hold you back everywhere you go.

Forgiveness opens the suitcase and lets some of that negativity drop out; it lightens the load.  Withholding forgiveness – from myself or someone else – only weighs down my own heart; it only hurts me.  Holding on to negative emotions is like putting a piece of cheese in an unrefrigerated jar; the longer it’s in there, the nastier it gets.  Forgiveness is a new start, a second chance.  It’s a fresh, clean morning opening up a new day with no mistakes in it.

Release some positive energy to the universe today.  Forgive, and find peace.

If I have harmed any one in any way,
either knowingly or unknowingly
through my own confusions,
I ask their forgiveness.
If anyone has harmed me in any way,
either knowingly or unknowingly
through their own confusions,
I forgive them.
And if there is a situation
I am not yet ready to forgive,
I forgive myself for that.
For all the ways that I harm myself,
negate, doubt, belittle myself,
judge or be unkind to myself,
through my own confusions,
I forgive myself.

3 thoughts on “7 Days of Self-Acceptance – Day 7: A Buddhist Prayer for Forgiveness

  1. So after a busy Easter weekend – I’m catching up on my favorite writer – MNM . Was a couple posts behind and with this s – l – o – w machine of mine – am able to clean up entire rooms while waiting for a single page to load. So I catch up on the previous 2 posts re writing your feelings down and living in the present, reflect on them, and make a comment on each. In between of course – catching up on my chores while pages reload etc. And I reach Day 7 and what are you talking about? FORGIVENESS – something I mentioned in my comment a couple posts ago. Imagine my surprise. Tell me we aren’t on the same wave length sometimes – even separated by a huge ocean!!! Couldn’t agree with you more – forgiveness in all forms is key. And I really love the prayer you included – another addition to my refrigerator of thoughts. Enjoy today my dearest daughter. XXXOOO

  2. How insightful of you and how beautifully written. You are so right…holding a grudge hurts us more than anyone else. I don’t think most people set out to hurt us anyway, we are all just trying to do our best in the moment with the knowledge that we have. The problem is that it’s only human nature to try to protect our own egos and interests in the process and and that’s where the potential for hurt comes in. Love the prayer.

Leave a Reply

