Don’t wash your clothes in the woods

Would you trust Mother Nature to wash your clothes?  Of course you wouldn’t!  That’s because she’d probably dunk them in a freshwater lake in the woods somewhere next to a badger carcass, and you’d have to walk around smelling like lake trout and dead badger.  I think even the hippies would be too discerning to befriend you then.  They’d just toss you some patchouli and tea tree oil out the window of their bus and keep truckin’ (because they’re obviously Dead Heads).  Right on.

Now I’m no Dead Head (although I do enjoy a little Touch of Grey every now and then), but I do know a thing or two about tea tree oil, and I can tell you that there is no way it’ll cover up the scent of dead badger – no way, no how.  So it’s best to just not let Mother Nature wash your clothes.  End of story.

But curiosity killed the cat, and it made the unsuspecting hippie smell like yesterday’s un-washed clothes.  So, in that vein, we’re attacking laundry for week 1 – homemade laundry detergent and homemade dryer sheets.  After some internet research, I found some recipes.  Here’s what I’ve whipped up to clean my wardrobe and to (hopefully) not smell like yesterday’s un-washed clothes.

I found both of these tutorials on DIY Natural.  The laundry detergent recipe includes just three ingredients:

  • 1 Cup of Borax
  • 1 Cup Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda
  • 1 bar of soap, grated (I used Dial, but to be extra green, pick Dr. Bronner’s or another all-natural brand)

For a homemade, sustainable alternative to dryer sheets, I’m trying my hand at wool dryer balls, which require just one ingredient: 100% wool yarn.  I couldn’t find a sheep, so I bought some commercial yarn yesterday, so that my dryer balls will be ready for tomorrow’s laundry cycle.  But if I come across a sheep in the meantime, you can bet that sucker is getting sheered.

More Mother Nature’s Maid Service

3 thoughts on “Don’t wash your clothes in the woods

  1. Borax !!! Haha !!! Let me know how the “20 Mule Team” works out for you. Takes me right back to Sunday night TV at Grandmother’s house!!! Thanks for the memories and happy washing –

Leave a Reply

