Scour Power! (Or, how to get away – or not – with bathroom murder)

Carrie has finally done it.  After all I did last week cleaning the bathroom, she’s turned me over to the authorities.

I’m writing this from a maximum security prison.  They don’t usually let you have laptops, but the guards are MNM fans.  I keep asking myself how I ended up in the joint.  And then I ask myself if prisoners even call it “the joint” anymore.  And then I remind myself to toughen up, because these ladies all probably want to shiv me in the yard.  And then I ask myself, again, why I’m here when I clearly don’t even know the correct prison slang.

It started last week.  I came home one day to find the police waiting for me.  They told me I was under arrest for a Psycho-inspired shower killing.  As they dragged me away, I screamed: “But I didn’t do anything!  What is this about??”

“I know what you did!” Carrie cried.  “You murdered Janet Leigh in there!”

“Janet Leigh died in 2004!” I yelled, struggling against my handcuffs.  “And why would I murder her?”

“Why else would you clean the bathroom?” Carrie shouted back, pointing a defiant and accusatory finger toward the upstairs lavatory.  “You psycho!!”

Despite the fact that I’m now in prison, I call this a win.  Who knew that my homemade bathroom cleaners would be powerful enough to create a shine so spotless that it looks like Norman Bates took a stab at our shower curtain and then covered it up!  I have to tell you, I certainly didn’t.  Homemade scouring powder is all fine and dandy, but it definitely doesn’t pack the same punch that Comet does.  Here’s my recipe:

  • 1 cup Baking Soda
  • 1/2 cup Borax
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 1 pack sugar-free lemonade mix (optional)
  • 2 Dandelion flowers, crushed (optional)

Although the lemonade mix creates some fizz, this recipe doesn’t foam up like a conventional cleaner, and it took more than a little extra elbow grease to bring out the same shine in our tiles.  It also was missing some grit.  With Comet, I can rough up the bottom of my tub like I’m scrubbing it with sandpaper, but my homemade cleaner just doesn’t seem abrasive enough. I kept dumping more in to feel like I was getting a true clean, but, really, I just ended up in a sandbox of miscellaneous white powders.  I used up almost an entire batch of this stuff in my first go-round.  Clearly, some changes are in order.

First of all, I think I’ll swap the Baking Soda and Borax amounts.  Borax is grittier, and I think it would do the job better.  I also want to add a higher salt ratio to the mix and use a coarser product.  The reason I added the salt was for abrasion, but it was obviously too fine to do its duty.  If you want more scrubbing bubbles, I’ve read that a grated bar of soap mixed into the recipe can make all the difference.  I skipped this step though, because, frankly, I was just too lazy to grind another bar of soap down to the nubbins with our vegetable peeler.

All in all, I’m giving Scour Power a half-win.  It did clean the bathroom eventually…with a lot of manual labor.  I think my proposed changes will make Scour Power 2.0 a much more satisfying and easy-to-use product.  However, if you like to exercise in your bathroom, I think I just invented your next workout.  You’re welcome.

More Mother Nature’s Maid Service

2 thoughts on “Scour Power! (Or, how to get away – or not – with bathroom murder)

  1. If you let me know the visiting hours, I will stop by with some of the weeds you left in the fridge for me, to dress up the salad they serve for dinner. And no, it’s not a problem, glad to do it. Maybe I’ll add a small knife or razor, too, so you can fight back against the girls in the yard. I won’t be able to visit all the time, tho ……. you know I have to split visitation time between you and Allen. All things considered, at least now you’ll have some “cred” when you are back on the streets of you know where.

    • Here’s an idea – keep your scouring powder recipe as is and just change up the vehicle of application. Maybe apply your recipe via Brillo pad ? SOS pad ? Scotch Brite Dobie Scouring Pad ? Heavy duty steel wool ? Or – if dealing with really tough bathroom grime – just go right for the coarse grit industrial strength sand paper. And for goodness sake – take a minute to add the foaming action of the vegetable peeled bar of soap. Its all about the suds and abrasiveness of the cleanser when dealing with bathroom scum ( and the occasional blood and guts ). Hey – maybe next visiting day – I’ll whip up your favorite homemade mac and cheese casserole and bring it out – for you and the girls. Will a 9 x !3 pyrex dish fit through the slot in your cell gate ???

Leave a Reply

