The Maid to Curl Finale Hair Compare Q&A Part I: Different strokes for different curl patterns and porosities

Well, folks, yesterday Carrie and I bade a fond farewell (“fond” as in we’re glad to see it go) to the Curly Girl Method! If you didn’t catch the fireworks and champagne from last night’s party, you can still read the transcript:

No more scrunching!
No more plops!
No more lifeless, tangled locks!
No more drying!
No more gel cast!
No more curls that never last!

In honor of yesterday being the FINAL DAY of the Maid to Curl Challenge, I wrote this post from my bathtub, with a moisture treatment (commercially produced, of course) painted on my hair. I thought one last Good College Try was in order, but, in true CGM style, my hair dried practically straight. (In fairness, I lost interest and didn’t scrunch.) I think the Curly Girl experience might have taught me that my true hair type is, in fact, not curly:

While I can’t say I’m sad to see this challenge end, I also can’t say I’m sorry I did it. Even though the Curly Girl Method was often time consuming and frustrating, Carrie and I both learned a lot, and the Maid to Curl Challenge wasn’t without its triumphs. Carrie got some great results and finally achieved the curly hairstyles she’s been after for quite some time! And I learned how to dry my hair with an old t-shirt! So it was a win-win for everyone!

So how did we get here? Keep reading for the exclusive interview to find out what the Maid to Curl Challenge was REALLY like…

Q: What is your hair porosity & texture?

The “porosity” of hair refers to its ability/tendency to absorb and retain moisture. Take the Curlsbot hair porosity quiz for yourself!

Carrie: The Curlsbot Quiz says I likely have high porosity hair. My hair texture is fairly dry and coarse feeling. I had some natural wave before CGM, as well as a lot of volume. My hair is prone to frizz.

Rachel (MNM): The Curlsbot Quiz says I have low porosity hair, which makes sense, because my hair gets dirty quickly. My texture is on the soft and silky side but with some natural body. It tends toward oily, rather than dry.

Q: What do you think your curl pattern is?

Carrie: I don’t have just one type of curls, but the majority seem to be between 2b and 3a.

Rachel (MNM): Probably 2a/2b. Although, I swear I’ve seen a few 2c/3a curls on CGM!

Q: How closely did you follow the Curly Girl Method for the Challenge?

Carrie: I haven’t been a stickler with the Curly Girl Method, and I wasn’t styling my hair curly as much toward the end. And I don’t think all my products were “approved.” I did keep up with the conditioning and drying methods, and I haven’t used any heat tools, towels, or brushes.

Rachel (MNM): I also fell off the wagon with the styling techniques, particularly toward the end of the challenge. I only used “approved” products, and I avoided heat tools, towels, and brushes.

Q: What Curly Girl washing/styling techniques worked best for you? What did not work?

Carrie: Using tons of conditioner has really helped. I squish to condish in the shower, apply leave-in conditioner on soaking wet hair, and deep condition once a week. My hair seems to prefer styling upside down and soaking wet, and my hair responds very well to plopping.

Flipping my hair side-to-side while styling and drying did not work…it made my curl clumps fall apart and made my hair HUGE! Styling on damp hair didn’t work as well as styling on wet hair…once the hair started to dry it didn’t seem to take the product as well. 

Rachel (MNM): I like the clarifying and deep conditioning to prevent build-up and keep my hair soft. Co-washing (“washing” with conditioner only) has worked surprisingly well and allows me to shampoo less often. Plopping, damp styling, diffusing, and flipping my hair side-to-side while styling and drying creates the best volume for me.

Styling my hair soaking wet doesn’t work well, because it weighs my hair down and flattens my roots. Too much product makes my hair heavy and dirty.

Q: What curly-hair products work best for you?

Carrie: A combination of gel and curl cream to style (Bioterra Gel and Curlsmith Hold Me Softly Curl Cream). Garnier Fructis Smoothing Treat 1-Minute Hair Mask.

Rachel: Most important for me is to go light on the products. Not Your Mother’s products have worked well: the Curl Defining Cream and the Curling Mousse. I also like the Bioterra Gel.

Stay tuned for Part II of the exclusive interview! In the meantime, don’t call, don’t text, don’t visit – for the next few days, all I’m going to do is brush and straighten my hair! Just kidding…well, maybe.

3 thoughts on “The Maid to Curl Finale Hair Compare Q&A Part I: Different strokes for different curl patterns and porosities

  1. Carrie did get some impressive curls . But you dear Maid didn’t get the same result.
    I really enjoyed seeing some photos from the old cottage days !

  2. Pingback: The Maid to Curl Finale Hair Compare Q&A Part II: Where to from here? | Mother Nature's Maid

  3. I applaud you for trying!
    If there is a category for stick straight lifeless hair that’s where I’d fall.
    Looking forward to your next adventure.

Leave a comment